the DSTAgE experience (MAD)

Madrid. The capital of Spain. A city rich with beautiful boulevards and amazing architecture. It may be just me romanticizing the city, but though it did not exude wealth and opulence, I got the regal Old World charm with a classy vibe.

As for the food scene, I tried to hit as much as I can of my eat list during the very limited time.

One of the must-do’s was to eat at a Michelin-starred restaurant. With a 150e/head budget, I started doing research on 1- and 2-stars. I decided to try DStage, a 2-star Michelin restaurant in Madrid, for the following reasons: (1) The chef-owner, Diego Guerrero, is multi-awarded and considered one of the best chefs of Spain. (2) DSTAgE received its 1-star after only 4 months since opening in 2014! (3) Consistency. It has since earned 2-stars from 2016 till 2019. (4) Value for money. I know, price shouldn’t matter to people who dine at Michelin-starred restaurants. But woe is me. I have the palate of a princess, but the wallet of a pauper. So yeah, each morsel should be worth the euro. DSTAgE had 2-star tasting menu at 1-star prices.

DSTAgE stood for Days to Smell, Taste, Amaze, grow & Enjoy. And I believe I did just that!

What made this experience even more spectacular was the personal touch. Not only did chef visit our table, but he and his staff created something special to commemorate our boda de plata (silver wedding anniversary)!

DSTAgE menu

DSTAgE. March 2018.

2 Comments

Leave a comment